🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Just how many people are serious in game writing?

Started by
15 comments, last by skybrother 21 years, 10 months ago
This is my first time here. Seeing the stagnancy of this writing section, I can''t help but to feel curious or even desperate. Just how many people here are serious in game writing? (I assume "game writing" implys script writing and screen writings) I myself has finished the final editing for the First Act of a five-acts RPG screenplay. (About 14000 words) Currently, I am repolishing the plotline with an outline of scene summaries. From the density of my unfinished outline, I would think the complete outline will be about 10000 words. (Juses, I am good at gibbering.) So, are there any people here currently on any project? What about the progression?
Struggling in converting something of mind to something of paper...
Advertisement
Truthfully, most people here are programmers or artists (very few). The vast minority of writers sometimes don''t even post here, but on the more popular game design forum.

So to answer your question, yes, there are writers here, you just have to look hard.

"There are only three types of people in this world: those who can count, and those who can''t."

Just3D
Justin Nordin
J Squared Productions
www.jsquaredproductions.com
"There are only three types of people in this world: those who can count, and those who can't."Just3DJustin NordinJ Squared Productionswww.jsquaredproductions.com
I''m a serious writer/designer. I actually have a company running right now. While we aren''t working on a story-based game right now, we are indeed working on some story-based games for the long run. Right now, it''s a small puzzle game and you really can''t write a story for a puzzle game (unless you''re Sonic Team).