🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

I Still don't understand Ticks

Started by
10 comments, last by Sanced 23 years, 9 months ago
Heya peeps.. after several days of tring things, reading etc. i still don't get it about ticks and synch. I'm new in networked games.. or lets say, Fast Action Network. Server determines Position of clients in a Map. Simple thing. When i think of how things work, its like this Server/Client client sends data to server, Server replies. Now we multiply that by lottsa times, and Very Fast. and with Several clients. I see a big mess, but programs don't see messes.. they know what to do and they do it. Server recv's a pack, it processes, and replies.. doesn't mater if there's a million and from 100 different clients. Server knows who each pack is from and he can work them. and Replies accordingly to each client. Since we got limitations in speed. We have to Make packs as small as we can, we use UDP to make things even faster and losing some data here doesn't matter. Thats basically it.. thats how its supposed to work how i see it. Uey, unfortunately things Are Not working by the way i see it. it all makes sense but on the run, it all crashes, and u get a choppy result, things lock up for secs, etc (what a Mess) What am i missing? i keep reading about ticks and synch.. but i don't understand them. Like DDn said, Server sends a Tick... client doesn't update frame until a tick is recv'd. hmmm ok....why? someone told me, have server send a tick every 20ms, the tick represnts the time since game has begun. ok... why do i need that tick? what is the client supposed to do with knowing when the game started? The 1 thing i heard that made sense is that... ok, we can't have 100 clients spitting out UDP packs all over cause we'l get collisions. only 1 puter can talk at a time on a networ