🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

Tricks of the Windows Game Programming Gurus

Started by
8 comments, last by Ernie 22 years, 8 months ago
Yo, I just bought Tricks of the Windows Game Programming Gurus after reading many reviews about it, and when I start reading I am unsure of whether I need to know C, C++, or both. I know the basics of C and more about C++, but which one should I focus on? I have C++ How to Program and the Absolute Beginners Guide to C for books.
Advertisement
Focus on C++, since it is C, but with more capabilities (you can do essentially everything in C that you can in C++, but the C++ compiler makes it a hundred times easier (especially with virtual functions, templates, etc.)).

Either way you can still code games. Wolfenstein 3D was coded in C (you can find the source if you search a little) and I know that Half-life was coded in C++ (If you look at the manual on the last page, I think, it has some C++ OOP code dealing with a soda can or something).

I personally prefer C++, but you need to learn C to program in C++ (since they are related to each other).

Good LUCK!
You can get through Tricks with C knowledge. Infact, some of the things Lamothe does is with C (like opening text files, since there is a C way, and a C++ way). If you know C, that should be enough as long as you have a compiler that can handle DX (like MSVC++). And I remember a part or two where he said a segment would look foreign to a C programmer, but he explains it so you shouldn''t have problems.

If you can read this, All your base are belong to us!
quote: Original post by Viscous-Flow
...but you need to learn C to program in C++...

Lies!

The thought processes and mental approaches (which are what really define programming) for the two languages are totally different. Learn them both if you want to.