🎉 Celebrating 25 Years of GameDev.net! 🎉

Not many can claim 25 years on the Internet! Join us in celebrating this milestone. Learn more about our history, and thank you for being a part of our community!

How can I swap sections of data in two different 2d arrays of the same length, forming a third 2d array?

Started by
3 comments, last by Shaarigan 2 years, 11 months ago

I am extremely new to coding and I am currently learning C# on my own. I have searched around but I cannot find what I am looking for. I may not be searching for the correct terms.

I am wondering how I could swap sections of 2 different 2d arrays, with each other, and form a new (child) 2d array.

I plan on using this in an evolution simulation, however what I am trying to do is not the same as a Genetic Algorithm. I do not care about spawning populations, fitness functions, etc.

So the basic idea is that I want to take two existing 2d arrays that are each 20 rows (genes) x 2 columns (A/B options), swap random sections, and then spawn the child 2d array of the same size.

Ideally I would like this to be similar to the Uniform Crossover in Genetics where the data isn't simply split in half. I would need the arrays to have corresponding data locations so to be used as "swap points" for the data. I also want the original "parent" arrays to remain in existence, while the child array is created.

A chromosome made of an array 20 genes, with each gene containing an array of 2 alleles.

[Chromosome]--->[Gene]--->[Allele]

Each gene represents things like color, size, and behaviors. Each gene has an A/B option (allele). These A/B options will be used later to determine "behaviors."

(Alleles that are swapped are capitalized)
Parent 1: [a,A,b,b,B,a,A,b,a,a,a,b,a,b,a,a,a,b,a,a]

Parent 2: [a,B,b,b,A,a,B,b,a,a,a,b,a,b,a,a,a,b,a,a]

Child 1: [a,A,b,b,B,a,B,b,a,a,a,b,a,b,a,a,a,b,a,a]